Online: Global Reads Book Club ~ Holiday Pick

Monday, December 20, 2021 7:00pm - 8:30pm ET Online

BOOK CLUB | AUSTRALIAN AUTHOR MADELEINE ST. JOHN | HOLIDAY READ

For the month of December, the Global Reads Book Club will be discussing The Women in Black by Australian author Madeleine St. John, which takes place during the holiday season in the late 1950s. New members are always welcome!

About the Novel

The women in black, so named for the black frocks they wear while working at Goode’s department store, are busy selling ladies’ dresses during the holiday rush. But they somehow find time to pursue other goals… Patty, in her mid-thirties, has been working at Goode’s for years. Her husband, Frank, eats a steak for dinner every night, watches a few minutes of TV, and then turns in. Patty yearns for a baby, but Frank is always too tired for that kind of thing. Sweet, unlucky Fay wants to settle down with a nice man, but somehow nice men don’t see her as marriage material. Glamorous Magda runs the high-end gowns department. A Slovenian émigré, Magda is cultured and continental and hopes to open her own boutique one day. Lisa, a clever and shy teenager, takes a job at Goode’s during her school break. Lisa wants to go to university and dreams of becoming a poet, but her father objects to both notions. By the time the last marked-down dress is sold, all of their lives will be forever changed.

A pitch-perfect comedy of manners set during a pivotal era, and perfect for fans of "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel," The Women in Black conjures the energy of a city on the cusp of change and is a testament to the timeless importance of female friendship.

Copies of the novel are available at the library and on OverDrive. Registration is required.

Contact: Giovanna Fiorino-Iannace

Please sign up for this event.

We will only use your email address to contact you about this event (example: if the event is postponed). If you have any questions, please chat with us below or call us at (914) 835-0324, Mon. - Fri., 9:30am-5:00pm.